Series I don’t Plan on Finishing

The many book series that have entered my life can mainly be separated into three categories:

  • Series that I have followed from the beginning to the bitter end. Subcategories here include series I have loved and have been distraught that they finished (see The Raven Boys Cycle and Shiver series’ by Maggie Stiefvater) and series where I am in so deep I just have to finish with no regard for my sanity (see The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare)
  •  Series where I have read some of the books and just tailed off but might pick up again some day (see The Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl)
  • Series where I have read one or more of the books before deciding it just wasn’t for me.

This third category is the one I’m going to be discussing here. Interestingly, I have found that for most of the series I have decided not to finish, rather than just not enjoying the first book and not carrying on I have actually liked at least one of the books!

  1. Shatter Me trilogy – Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me, Unravel Me, Ignite Me)

First off a series where I loved the first novel. There are some really good things about Shatter Me. Starting off superficial, the cover is one of my favourite book covers, it is so pretty! Moving onto the novel itself I really loved the story, which is a dystopian about a girl called Juliette whose touch is fatal. It’s angsty and dramatic and there is a really cute pairing that I love. On top of that, Tahereh Mafi’s writing is beautiful and poetic. This novel actually features one of my favourite book quotes ever:

‘The moon understands what it means to be human. Uncertain. Alone. Cratered by imperfections.’

So the one question that remains is ‘why am I not going to finish this series if I loved the first book so much?’. The answer is simple: because I loved the first book so much. It was very simple and contained and there weren’t that many characters. From looking at the second novel the world seems to expand a lot and become more complex, plus there was a suggestion of a possible love triangle at the end of the first novel and I just can’t deal with another one of them, especially when the pair established in the first novel is one I love so much!

2. Legend trilogy – Marie Lu (Legend, Prodigy, Champion)

Similar to Shatter Me, I loved the first novel in this series, in fact, it even made it onto the honourable mentions of my favourite books list. Another dystopian with a romantic pairing that I love (I can sense a theme emerging!), Legend follows fifteen year old June and Day as they navigate what was once the west of the United States. June is from an elite family which is tied up with the military while Day is the most wanted criminal in the country. It is very dramatic as it deals with corruption and justice and family and, no spoilers, but I was shocked by the ending and cried for quite a while after finishing reading!

After enjoying the first novel in this series I was really excited about the release of the second novel but when it came out I just didn’t enjoy it that much. Everything just got a bit complex, romantic relationships got a bit tangled and there was what I think was a love triangle but it could even have been a love square (is that a thing?!). Don’t get me wrong it wasn’t a bad read by far and, most importantly, didn’t lessen my love for Legend at all, it just wasn’t really for me. For that reason, I decided to stop reading this series and enjoy the first novel as a stand-alone.

3. The Maze Runner series – James Dashner (The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure, The Kill Order)

Another dystopian series here but a bit of a different story as I read the first three novels and just decided I didn’t want to read The Kill Order which is a prequel to the events of the first three. The three books in the series that I read deal with a dystopian world and from what I understand, The Kill Order deals with how the world came to be in this state. I think my disinterest in reading this prequel is mainly because the characters in the first three novels were the main draw for me, rather than the world in which it was set. In the same vein I’m not sure I was ready to let go of the characters I had come to like and meet new ones in the same world!

So there we have it, series I have read to a point and then made a conscious decision to stop for one reason or another. Of course you should never say never, so who knows, I may finish one, or all of these series at some point in the future. Just not right now!

Leave a Reply

