Monthly Roundup – June 2017

Like May before it, June has been a pretty weird month for me. Firstly, it was my first  full month without any uni commitments ala exams, coursework, lectures .etc. which was lovely, but did mean that all of my term time fatigue crashed down on me in the first few weeks. Then, just as I got over my tiredness I did a massively enjoyable but very tiring week of work experience in a local high school. June has therefore been a bit of a rollercoaster and has felt hugely long!

Despite this, I got a few books under my belt this month including some off my summer TBR pile which is fab!

Even though I started The Book Thief last month, the first book I finished this month was a book called Alice in Brexitland by Leavis Carroll. I should point out now that I don’t normally read two books at once but I was inspired by the UK general election to read this piece of political satire and I knew I could read it in a couple of hours at most. To be honest, I wasn’t hugly fond of this read. Although I’m pleased I tried a new genre I feel this one is just not for me. Additionally, I read this book in the days leading up to the election which made the calling of the EU referendum seem a little like old-news (I wouldn’t suggest reading political satire about one major event in the lead up to another!). Even so, it was interesting to see how literature can be used in different fields such as politics.  My inner A-level History student also made an appearence while I read this book as I was thinking back to when we had to analyse sources such as political cartoons and imagining children in the future doing the same with this text which was an interesting way to look at it!

Next, I finished The Book Thief. I won’t say much about it here as I have already posted a more detailed discussion of it. All I will say is that I loved it as much, if not more, than I did the first time I read it.

After The Book Thief I decided to move on to another book from my summer TBR list in the form of I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore. This novel is the first in a series about a group of aliens who flee from their home planet after it is destroyed by another alien race and come to earth. There are nine of these aliens and they are supposedly the saviours of their home planet but they are being hunted by the other race (I’m not sure I’m selling this wonderfully; it’s actually a really interesting concept and doesn’t come across as nearly half as complicated as I’m making it seem!). Anyway, I found this book a little difficult to get into at the beginning, firstly because I had just read The Book Thief where it feels as if practically every sentence means something and leaves you with something to consider, so it is strange going back to that not necessarily being the case. Secondly, this is the first fantasy book I have read in a good long while so that took a bit of getting used to too. Despite this, as I kept reading I got more and more into it and was flying through by the end. I also forgot since my first reading, how much I like the character of Sam who is the human best friend of one of the aliens (the titular number four). It seems like I have a thing for the human character in the middle of fantasy races (see Stiles in the TV programme Teen Wolf or Isobel in the Shiver series)!

After I am Number Four I came back to the real world with Tina Fey’s autobiography, Bosspants. I really enjoyed reading this book and it included many moments where I genuinally laughed out loud. I will say I think I might have enjoyed it a little bit more if I were a Saturday Night Live fan (I found the same thing with Amy Poehler’s autobiography) but that has more to do with me than the book itself. Even so, this was a really nice, easy-going read.

Currently then, I am reading The Power of Six, the second in the I Am Number Four series. I’m actually really enjoying it and despite having already read it, I feel excited and anxious while reading as I can only remember bits and pieces. Unfortunately, there is a bit of a love triangle situation going on, which also annoyed me the first time I read this book but I’m hoping it goes away soon as I didn’t actually remember it until I was reading about it again!

Top Pick:

The Book Thief. Without question or doubt!

IMG_1334

So there we have it, another book filled month finished. Moving into July I will be finishing The Power of Six and based on how much I am enjoying it right now, I might even pick up the next in the series straight away…we’ll just have to see how that love triangle goes!

Leave a Reply

